7th Workshop on Advances in Secure Electronic Voting


A Workshop Associated with Financial Crypto 2022
May 6, 2022
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort

Call for Papers

Elections are the foundations of democracy and they have been the target for attack since the dawn of democracy. Over the last few decades the introduction of digital technologies to elections has opened up a raft of new attack vectors. Recently, US has placed voting technologies on the list of national, critical infrastructures. Secure voting protocols, in particular so-called end-to-end verifiable schemes, have been a hot topic of research for the last decade or so. Voting poses many challenges: the precise characterization of subtle properties including verifiability and coercion resistance, accountability etc. and the design and analysis of schemes providing these properties in a complex, hostile environment. The field requires a deep understanding of modern crypto and information security but is also highly interdisciplinary, requiring understanding of the role of humans, physical components, procedures, legal and regulatory aspects etc.

COVID-19 Information

Due to the ongoing global pandemic we expect that some authors may have difficulty traveling to the conference and we will make accommodations for remote presentations.

Important Dates

Initial Submission (title and abstract) Deadline (Extended)1st November, 2021 AoE
Full Submission Deadline1st November, 2021 AoE
Notification of acceptance11th December, 2021


Papers should contain original research in any area related to electronic voting technologies, verifiable elections, and related concerns. Example topics include but are not limited to:

  • In-person voting systems
  • Remote/Internet voting systems
  • Voter registration and authentication systems
  • Procedures for ballot and election auditing
  • Cryptographic (or non-cryptographic) verifiable election schemes
  • Attacks on existing systems
  • Trust models
  • Resilience and robustness of voting systems
  • Designs of new systems
  • Experiences deploying voting systems or conducting elections
  • Experiences detecting and recovering from election problems
  • Formal or informal security or requirements analysis
  • Examination of usability and accessibility issues
  • Research on relevant regulations, standards, or laws

Papers describing experiences deploying voting systems, conducting elections, or detecting and recovering from election problems are welcome, so long as they include enough rigorous analysis to constitute original research.

Submissions will be judged on originality, relevance, correctness, and clarity.

The workshop solicits submissions of manuscripts that represent significant and novel research contributions. Submissions must not substantially overlap with works that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings.

Submissions should follow the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science format and should be no more than 15 pages including references and well-marked appendices. Accepted papers will appear in the proceedings published by Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Authors who seek to submit their works to journals may opt-out by publishing an extended abstract only.

Short papers with a length of maximal 8 pages, will also be accepted as submissions this year, and can be used to introduce work in progress, novel applications, and voting experiences. These submissions must be clearly marked "Short papers:".

Also "Systemization of Knowledge" papers will be accepted and have a page limit of 15 pages but *excluding* references. These should be marked "SoK:".

All submissions will be reviewed double-blind, and as such, must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements, or obvious references.

Submission website: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=voting22

Program Chairs

Thomas HainesAustralian National University
Aleksander EssexWestern University

Program Committee

Roberto Araujo Universidade Federal do Pará (UFPA)
Josh Benaloh MSR
Matthew Bernhard University of Michigan
Constantin Catalin Dragan University of Surrey
Jeremy Clark Concordia University
Chris Culnane The University of Melbourne
Jeremy Epstein SRI International
Kristian Gjøsteen Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Rajeev Gore The Australian National University
Rolf Haenni Bern University of Applied Sciences
Oksana Kulyk IT University of Copenhagen
Johannes Mueller University of Luxembourg
Olivier Pereira UCLouvain
Daniel Rausch University of Stuttgart
Peter Roenne Polish Academy of Sciences
Peter Y. A. Ryan University of Luxembourg
Steve Schneider University of Surrey
Carsten Schuermann IT University of Copenhagen
Philip Stark University of California, Berkeley
Vanessa Teague Thinking Cybersecurity